My Top 5 Songs of August 2016

Yes, I’m late, I know.

August is always an awkward month in the Kpop stratosphere. Summer is beginning to transition into the fall months, and that usually means that there’s a massive conglomeration of different concepts coming out all at once. Some still try to hang onto the summer vibe, while others just go straight to fall’s intense, more serious material. And still others just flat-out defy either because reasons.

And, as no Kpop blog is complete without some semblance of lists that have opinions and stuff, I’ve decided to create one of my own. Since I’m a busy woman with lots of things to do, the list only consists of five songs since I only reviewed upwards of fifteen this past month, and also because it’s easier than trying to do some top twenty list every month on top of my other reviews.

So without further adieu, let’s see what made the cut this month.

  1. Laboum – Shooting Love (Full Review)

A song about shooting a crush with Cupid’s Arrow (or gun), Laboum gives us their take of a summer comeback with a lot of spying and sabotage with a song straight out of Girl’s Day’s cutesy playbook.

  1. VIXX – Fantasy (Full Review)

VIXX comes back to the dramatic side of the tracks for the second part of their Greek-god trilogy. A stark contrast from “Dynamite” earlier this year, VIXX plays the god of the dead, Hades, as they tread through a forest, get tied up, and remind us why we like their dark concepts so goddamn much.

  1. I.O.I. – Whatta Man (Full Review)

IOI finally found their groove as take Salt and Pepa’s “Whatta Man” from the 90s and put it next to some guitars and Kpop gloss. For a group that constantly talked about having good vocals, we finally see them come to life when they come together in the chorus. Plus, the girls have never looked so good.

  1. Black Pink – Boombayah (Full Review)

YG announced this new girl group way back in 2012, but it took another four years for them to debut. Thankfully, Black Pink lived up to the hype and more. Out of the two songs they came out with, I liked this one more due to its bombastic attitude and overall difference for what was coming out at the time. While I like my cutesy girl groups like the rest of us in Kpop, it’s nice to see some girls who don’t dance around in schoolgirl outfits and sing about crushes every comeback.

  1. I.B.I. – Molae Molae

I feel bad that this song became a small note on my Songs I Missed #1 article, because out of all the songs in August this was the one that caught my attention the most. It’s one of those songs that comes off kinda cute and precious but unmemorable at first, only to prove you wrong when you start humming it in the middle of your college classes. It’s your standard cutesy-song fair, but I’d be lying if I said I didn’t like it just about every time it comes up. Plus, it’s hard not to be enamored by the adorable performance these snubbed Produce 101 contestants give us. It’s too bad we’re not going to hear more from these girls, because it would have been nice to see what more these girls have to offer.

 

And that’s it until next month! What did you guys think of this month? Is your list any different? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

