BTS’s “Blood, Sweat, & Tears” Continues Their Successful Streak

0.png

BTS is a Kpop group that took the world by storm when they debuted in 2013, and hasn’t really let up since. I knew many people who were totally hyped with the group for their aggressive image and hip-hop sound. Being the usual “minority” in Kpop, I didn’t understand the hype.

Like, at all.

And…well, I was kinda vocal about it.

But, due to running this blog, I decided I had to give BTS (or Bangtan Boys, as they’re also called) another chance when they had a comeback this past week called “Blood, Sweat, & Tears.” I wasn’t expecting much due to my previous misunderstanding of why they were so good, but now I realize that I was an absolute idiot and have repented my ways.

What we have here is a song that is very different from the usual stuff BTS releases. Most of their tracks have a very aggressive tone to them, and this sounds much more subdued with the ethereal vocal patterns (a massive high point in the song, by the way) and tropical backing track that, on paper, sounds like a mess waiting to happen.

But, this is Kpop we’re talking about, and in Kpop you can make just about anything work, and this is an example of that. Also, a big plus for me is always when there’s a lack of hip-hop instrumental. The chorus is absolutely stunning with the way it builds and how the voices help with that. This is a song that really allows the vocalists to shine – and I’m a sucker for good and interesting vocals.

The music video, though, is a very different story.

Upon first watching the video, my thoughts were various iterations of “what the fuck” and “huh?” It was the same thought process that I had with INFINITE’S “The Eye” when it first came out – and I spent hours trying to figure out what the whole thing meant.

The difference is I actually have an interpretation of this video.

btsbloodsweatandtears

The concept for “Blood, Sweat, and Tears” is based off a Bildungsroman by a man named Hermann Hesse called Demian. The story centers around a boy named Sinclair, who is caught between the “world of light” and the “world of illusion” after a mistake makes him enslaved by a lower-class boy at school. Influences from this, including a quote from the book itself, pepper the music video, and I go way in depth with it in a later post.

I’m not really sure why I didn’t listen to much about BTS earlier, and I am really happy about this comeback. And I’m not the only one, as BTS got 7 million views within two days on this video, and its accompanying album, Wings, is breaking charts as well. EXO, watch out!

What did you guys think of this comeback? How long have you been a fan of BTS? Any songs you’d recommend I check out from them? Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

