MIXX Falls In Love With a Doll in Their New Song, “Love is a Sudden.”

mixxloveisasudden
A fun sidenote: find the girl who isn’t wearing heels. Bonus: rank everyone’s existing heels from highest to lowest.

When I was young in the Kpop fandom, one of my favorite places to go to learn about Kpop and keep up with new releases was a blogging couple called Eat Your Kimchi. Their Kpop Music Mondays made the beginning of my week much easier to deal with because of their commentary and humor. It may not be everyone’s cup of tea, but the reason I bring it up is because through Kpop Music Mondays I’ve gained a knack for noticing the stuff that doesn’t make sense, or is flat-out weird.

MIXX’s “Love is A Sudden” is one of these things.

From a song perspective, it’s one of those tracks that don’t try to do anything big with their instrumental. It reminds of 90s R&B when it decided to be peppy for change, which seems to be a theme with MIXX’s releases if you also look at their debut. The hook is relatively simple in the chorus, but it’s enough to make me want to bob my head side to side. For the most part I’m a big fan of intense releases, but it’s an okay song anyway because it does subtlety in a good way.

The music video, though, is the main reason I’m even talking about this.

Whoever directed this video has an eye for a color because color pops from everything in this video. It’s bright, colorful and the girls are styled so they all look attractive and cute. But there is a stranger underbelly here that I just need to talk about because it’s so necessary to my thought process on this entire thing.

mixxloveisasudden2
“What are you talking about?!”

I’ll tell you.

So, the story goes that the girls are all hanging out at their house doing usual girl things, like watering a cactus with a blooming tip, another girl waiting by the phone (presumably for some dude she likes), and the rest just generally looking bored. I’m guessing it has to do with the fact that they’re like “Man, why hasn’t a guy liked me yet, everybody else at school seems to have a boyfriend, so what’s so different about me?” Which, girls, I’ve been there. Throughout high school I used to think like this as almost everyone I knew was in a relationship with someone. As a girl in high school watching this, it occasionally makes you wonder what makes those girls so different.

But then, out of nowhere, some guy-doll thing crashes into the room…

mixxloveisasudden3
I don’t know about you but if this thing fell in my room I would not be sitting there with a cutesy surprise face…

…and all five of the girls fall in love with him.

Now I don’t know about you, but it does seem a little odd to a) fall in love with a doll, and b) share said doll with all your friends so that you all simultaneously fall in love with him. I imagine there’s gotta be a weird system so all the girls have time for their newfound cold, nonresponsive, and generally just unsatisfactory boyfriend, but hey. Some people gotta find love somewhere.

And don’t get me wrong: I know why the video does the whole thing with the doll in the first place. Part of it could be because of a lack of an actor to pay and then play the love interest, but the other reason could be so your male viewers can project themselves onto the doll and imagine the girls falling in love with them. But sometimes I see ridiculous things and despite knowing what they’re there for (if I’ve been a fan of Kpop for five years and don’t know, I’m either blind or very naïve), I like to point it out anyway.

There’s also an odd lyric that shows up at the bridge of the song:

This love that suddenly came to me
Feels like a dream
I didn’t think I could believe it in easily
Now I know
The door of my heart that was once locked is now open
I’ll allow you, will you come into me?

(Translation: pop!gasa)

 

mixxloveisasudden4
“Nae, what are you doing corrupting my understanding of Kpop songs and videos?!”

At the end of the day, despite the bob-your-head-to-the-beat chorus and sweet feel to the song (despite said weird lyric at the end of the bridge), this is not my favorite thing that’s come out this week. In fact, the only reasons I’ve really looked at this music video is for this review, and to make people question why a doll is here as opposed to an actual human for the girls to fall in love with, but it’s whatever. My Songs I Missed post should be coming up shortly, so you guys can just stay tuned for that (and weird stuff in music videos).

 

Leave a Reply

