Songs I Missed #9: Suzy, Kassy, SHINee, and more!

songs-i-missed-9

Another week has come and gone, and that means another Songs I Missed. I know this is the second week I’ve come out with literally no full reviews, but my brain has been busy on other things. However, I have kept up with Kpop long enough that I can comment a thing or two on this past week’s releases.

Heize ft. Han Soo Ji – “Round and Round” (January 20th, 2017)

I don’t really know Heize, and I don’t even know who Han Soo Ji is either. However, I have to admit this song is really fucking cool. There is something about how atmospheric the instrumental is with the orchestral-synth sound, and something about Heize and Han Soo Ji’s voices just carries the song home for me. Strangely, this is a OST track for a K-drama titled Goblin, which I’m guessing has been popular this past month.

Either way, I like it for its atmospheric nature and the voices associated with it.

Yesung and Seulgi – “Darling U” (January 21st, 2017)

This is the kind of song that some people complain about because it’s corny bullshit, but I like corny bullshit, which means I kind of like this. Sure, it’s a bit slow and it’s basically a ballad, and it’s also a STATION release. However, the one thing I can say is they didn’t really skimp on this music video too much. Sure, it follows a lot of aesthetic trends straight from Tumblr, but both Yesung and Seulgi look amazing and it’s cute to watch them talking on the phone. It’s just a shame we didn’t get to see Yesung and Seulgi actually “together.” The one scene they’re in the same shot is when there is a wall between them.

Jessi – “Don’t Make Me Cry” (January 21st, 2017)

Other than having the unfortunate name of a girl I didn’t like in middle school, this song is so boring I only got through half of it before I turned it off.

San E ft. Hwasa (MAMAMOO) – “I Am Me” (January 22nd, 2017)

You may remember I really liked San E’s verse in Ravi’s “Bomb,” so I was excited to see what he does in his solo career. Sadly, it didn’t have the same appeal. Maybe it has to do with how 90s retro rap was never my thing, but eh. Better luck next time.

Chen, Dynamic Duo – “Nosedive” (January 23rd, 2017)

Like Jessi’s song above, this was boring. This is supposed to be a mid-tempo hip-hop song with a ballad chorus and it wasn’t what I wanted to listen to this week. Just…no. No, no, no, no, no.

No.

Suzy – “Yes, No, Maybe” (January 23rd, 2017)

I wasn’t sure what to expect from JYP Entertainment and how they’d handle Suzy’s debut. Just about everybody whose known about Miss A knows that Suzy was destined for a solo, it was just surprising Fei got it first.

However, her debut has come, and it’s different from other Kpop releases. In fact, that seems to be a trend throughout Kpop this past month: from BONUS Baby’s J-idol inspired “Urikiri,” to Dream Catcher’s J-rock song and horror theme in “Chase Me.” Suzy’s song sounds like it should be part of a soundtrack for a Chinese movie about a woman being a succubus or something. It would explain why the song sounds both mysterious and unmemorable without the video’s context. A red wash takes up the majority of the video, and coupled with the blurry shots reminiscent of a hangover, it adds an otherworldly feel to this whole thing. I imagine that this will be a forgettable release on my end, but the debut is still worthy of note because of the obvious effort put into it.

IMFACT – “In the Club” (January 24th, 2017)

A nugu group under Star Empire, home of 9Muses (one of my favorite groups who will likely disband soon) and ZE:A (another nugu band, except on U-Kiss levels of nugu bands). I’d never even heard of them until I started looking up songs coming out this week. As a song, it’s relatively decent, but it’s nothing truly memorable. It’s just another ballad with a little bit of synth claps in the background.

On the bright side, at least it had some decent progression in comparison to Jessi’s and Chen + Dynamic Duo’s above tracks.

MELODYDAY ft. Jung Il Hoon (BTOB) – “You Seem Busy” (January 24th, 2017)

There seems to be a theme of ballads this week, because that seems to be all I’m reviewing. This time, it’s one that has those little synthy-tinkles along a piano melody, and it’s alright but (again) not what I wanted. I’m pretty sure I reviewed MELODYDAY previously and they still have yet to impress me with their music. Honestly I wish they would because they seem like the kind of nugu group I should be stanning right now (weird as that sounds).

Kassy – “Dream” (January 25th, 2017)

This kept showing up on my Youtube feed this week, and for some reason I got the impression it was some big deal. While the views seem to give the vibe Kassy’s a nugu in the game, it turns out she had a charting single in Korea called “In My Bed,” which means “Dream” is her sophomore effort.

Like many of the songs this week, Kassy’s “Dream” is…surprise, surprise…another ballad. However, there is something to be said about her music video, which is gorgeous, and “In My Bed” is a really nice mid-tempo single.

As a side note, is it just me or am I the only one getting Lim Kim vibes? Maybe it’s just the whole quirky voice thing going on, but I like it and I hope we get another “In My Bed” soon.

CHEETAH – “Blurred Lines” (January 26th, 2017)

Me: *clicks video*

A woman in black sitting on a bench, presumably because of a funeral. A piano starts playing in the background, like those bars where people go when they’re sad about losing the love of their life.

Me: I swear if this is another slow ballady song—

Midtempo beat plays. Boring rap starts.

Me: Fucking— *inaudible cursing and throwing of objects ensues*

 

[A moment.]

.

.

.

Ahem. Moving on.

 

SHINee – “Get the Treasure” (January 27th, 2017)

I know it’s technically a Japanese release, but this was a serious breath of fresh air after all the slow stuff this week. It’s a synth-pop track with light trumpets in the background and a James Bond feel. The James Bond theme continues with the music video, which is a nearly one-shot experience with the members walking around a bunch of broken glass and angry people robbing “treasure” from someplace. The only qualm I have with this video is the big English words all over the video during the bridge sequence, because it stole the vibe the video was building. But beyond that, interesting comeback.

 

And that’s it from the past week’s releases. I should note that I am really excited to see what Red Velvet’s “Rookie” comeback is all about, and I plan on doing a full review for that after it comes out. Until next time.

 

 

Leave a Reply

