Songs I Missed #10: K.A.R.D., BTS, Red Velvet, and more!

songs-i-missed-10

Oh hello guys.

So it’s been a while since I wrote something for this blog because I’ve been bad and haven’t been looking around much on the Kpop stratosphere. Much of this has to do with…well, school and my fiction endeavors, as well as the fact February presented a slow-down where big releases go.

That being said, I have a lot of catching up to do as far as rookies and some big names go, so let’s get started with where I left off: January 29th, 2017.

Red Velvet – “Rookie” (January 31st, 2017)

“Rookie” got mixed reception from critics and fans alike, and it’s not hard to see why. For some, this was just a return to the wacky, and for others this song was borderline annoying. How you like the song depends on whether or not you can handle a) the repetitive “rookie” (which sounds more like “lookie lookie” more than anything), and b) the acid-trip of a music video. I had some of my family members watch it and they looked at me like “where do you find this shit?” and I didn’t have the heart to tell them they’re one of the bigger groups in Kpop right now.

A plus side? At least the verses leading up to the chorus are really fun, and the good visuals return where their last comeback, “Russian Roulette,” left me puzzled. I can accept that the girls are supposed to be an out-of-left-field group, but at least do the girls justice visually! And thankfully, they did just that.

The song itself is nothing I’d write home about, but it’s something I can get down to when I’m in the right mood for it.

MASC – “Tina” (February 5th, 2017)

I thought I would be in for something interesting in the first ten seconds of this video, but as soon as the record scratched, I knew that specific instrumental wouldn’t be what I was getting.

That doesn’t make this song bad by any means. It makes use of guitars and horns to make the whole song sound like a cabaret/rock hybrid that works in some parts, but doesn’t in others. I probably wouldn’t have looked at this had I not run this blog, but I can’t be sure if this will earn itself some replays or be swiftly forgotten.

DAY6 – “My Day” (February 6th, 2017)

This is the kind of soft rock I adore, and I’m surprised I haven’t looked at Day6 sooner. They seem to bring something to the table that CNBlue and FT Island never did in their prime, so needless to say I’m very happy to find a good rock group here. The same goes for their other single released on the same day, “You Were Beautiful.”

CROSS GENE – “Black or White” (February 7th, 2017)

I heard a lot about this comeback, especially because of the 19+ music video. Most people from what I understood thought it was amazing, and I’ll have to agree with them on this one. The song is phenomenal upon first listen, and while the music video is grisly it’s still not quite the same as B.A.P.’s “Skydive” (which still deserves a 19+ rating). I am pretty sure I liked something from CROSS GENE before this, but either way they are on my radar for next comeback!

NCT-Dream – “My First and Last” (February 8th, 2017)

This song, in my humble opinion, was a lot better than their previous effort, “Chewing Gum.” In fact, I daresay it could be rather catchy.

I still can’t get over how little and young they are. Which I know is the point, but still. It’s…weird.

BTS – “Spring Day” (February 12th, 2017)

After watching (and enjoying) “Blood, Sweat, & Tears” last year, I was excited to see BTS’s next comeback to see if it was a one-time thing or if it would be enough to make me a fan of them. And while it hasn’t totally sold me on BTS as a whole, “Spring Day” is wonderful. It’s a ballad by design, but like most ballads I enjoy, they have some progression in the rhythm so that it’s easy to listen to. Not to mention, the cinematography and the story with the music video is gorgeous. So, if you haven’t – go watch it. You won’t be disappointed.

MELODYDAY – “Kiss On the Lips” (February 14th, 2017)

Not really feeling this. Meh.

K.A.R.D. – “Don’t Recall” (February 15th, 2017)

Following the same tropical house trend that gave them good reception in “Oh NaNa,” K.A.R.D. go without Youngji in “Don’t Recall.” It’s a little better than “Oh NaNa,” and maybe even a little more catchy. Still not necessarily my cup of tea. Will still follow tho.

 

And that’s all from me! Sorry about the lack of updates this month. I hope you’ll forgive me, and I’ll see you guys next time!

 

Leave a Reply

