The “Nae Catches Up On Kpop” Project (Part 2)

The Nae Catches Up on Kpop Project 2

Welcome to Part 2 of the project in which I try my best to catch up on Kpop and talk about some of the releases which have come out in the past month. I have determined there will be about four parts to this because I am talking about releases in one post based on the week they were posted on. Since the last post was from February 20th – February 27th, we are going to start this post on the 28th of February, and end it on March 6th.

As I mentioned in the first post, these will not be full-on paragraph-length reviews. Rather, I will be writing about one-to-three sentences on each of these comebacks so a) I can make these posts faster, and b) I don’t have to talk about releases I don’t like for too long. I know it’s not how I usually write my Songs I Missed posts, but it will have to do for catch-up purposes.

Let’s get started, shall we?

Gugudan – “A Girl Like Me” (February 28th, 2017)

Unlike literally everyone else in the Kpop fandom, I actually enjoyed Gugudan’s “Wonderland” debut. However, “Wonderland” pales to beige in comparison to the colorful, bombastic, and fun re-debut of sorts “A Girl Like Me” gives us. I don’t recognize any of the members from their debut, save for Sejeong because literally she is the most famous one out of the bunch because Produce 101 and therefore I.O.I. have helped her make a name for herself.

Taeyeon – “Fine” (February 28th, 2017)

I have a soft spot for songs that sound like early-2000s white girl pop, and this song is no exception. Everyone seemed to complain about Taeyeon’s voice belting too much and how the chorus is overpowering, but I think it adds to the song rather than depletes from it. Also, love that Taeyeon is keeping the hair from “11:11,” because it just looks so fucking good on her oh my god.

K.A.R.D. – “Don’t Recall” (March 2nd, 2017)

I know I talked about K.A.R.D.’s new song in my last “Songs I Missed” article, but here I just want to say that the “hidden track” version of this, a.k.a. the English version, sounds like utter crap. I’ve always had a problem with re-translating songs in different languages because it always sounds so garbled in comparison to the original, and this is no exception.

BLANC7 – “Yeah!” (March 3rd, 2017)

This debuting group got a lot of buzz for a “the smoothest debut” anyone had ever seen, and it’s not hard to see why. The electronic instrumental and the general dance in the music video is enough to give off that vibe – and I can say I really like it. It’s a catchy and interesting debut, so we’ll see where they go from here.

BTOB – “Movie” (March 6th, 2017)

I don’t usually pay attention to BTOB for whatever reason, even though they debuted way back when I first got into Kpop, but “Movie” is an interesting song. I personally really like the autotuned post-chorus for whatever reason. I think it has to do with how freaking smooth the whole thing is, but it’s hard to tell whether I’ll forget about this or keep it on my playlist.

DAY6 – “How Can I Say?” (March 6th, 2017)

Eh.

GFRIEND – “Fingertip” (March 7th, 2017)

I love that GFRIEND tried to switch it up this time around, and they do it to great effect, both in the visuals and the song itself. However, trying to figure out what this whole music video’s about is like switching souls with a bunch of people throughout the course of the day and then explaining to your parents what you did over dinner without them thinking you did something illegal or immoral.

 

And that’s it for Part 2 of the “Nae Catches Up With Kpop” Project. If you haven’t already, go ahead and check out Part 1, and stay tuned for Part 3 and Part 4 coming soon! See you next time!

 

 

One thought on “The “Nae Catches Up On Kpop” Project (Part 2)

Leave a Reply

