The “Nae Catches Up on Kpop” Project (Part 3)

The Nae Catches Up on Kpop Project 3

Welcome to Part 3 of the “Nae Catches Up on Kpop” project, in which I try my best to catch up on all the major releases that have cropped up in the past month since I’ve been gone.

Since last post’s went up to March 6th , this post will be going up to March 14th. As I mentioned in the past two posts, these will not be full paragraph reviews. Rather, I will spend 1-3 sentences talking about the various releases – both to save time and also so I don’t have to drone on about boring releases.

Let’s get started, shall we?

B.A.P. – “Wake Me Up” (March 7th, 2017)

I love B.A.P.’s strong, aggressive sound, and this one is no exception. It’s been on replay for the past few weeks if that tells you anything about how much I like it. I also like how this song is supposedly about leader Bang Yongguk’s battle with depression, which give it a more human touch than most Kpop releases produced by companies that the members only serve as mouthpieces of.

Brave Girls – “Rollin’” (March 7th, 2017)

After the departure of a few members last year, it seems that Brave Girls is doing another revamp of their image. I was expected some controversial shit like Stellar’s infamous “Marionette,” but what we have is a catchy song with a sort-of sexy dance with one somewhat risqué scene of the girls laying together. Not something I would give a 19+ rating if you ask me.

ROMEO – “Without U” (March 8th, 2017)

I’ve heard this song is the seamless medley between Sweetune’s signature 80s-synth sound and Brave Brother’s catchy structure – and it isn’t hard to see why. I am glad that despite teaming up with Brave Brothers, ROMEO has been able to keep the Infinite-esque sound that made me like them in the first place. The music video is okay and nothing to write home about.

Eric Nam x Somi – “You, Who?” (March 9th, 2017)

This is just really cute and cheesy and I don’t care if people say that this is one of those boring Kpop ballads that chart for just existing. It’s one of the good ones out there, and it is well-worth the listen. Plus, Eric and Somi’s voices meld very well together, and they look great in this adorable music video.

Produce 101 – “Pick Me” (March 9th, 2017)

Another song where I don’t get why people are shitting all over it about. I mean, it has a nice and interesting Sweetune sound I miss, and even if it’s one of those stupid reality show songs it doesn’t mean it’s bad altogether. I’m excited to see what the male I.O.I. is going to look like, though, and if one of Nu’est’s members are going to end up in it.

GOT7 – “Never Ever” (March 13th, 2017)

Eh. It’s okay. I guess.

HIGHLIGHT – “It’s Still Beautiful” (March 13th, 2017)

Now this is what I call a boring Kpop ballad.

LOONA 1/3 – “Love&Live” (March 13th, 2017)

Eh, it’s cute but forgettable.

MVP – “Take It” (March 14th, 2017)

This is okay, but that’s to be expected when you’re a debuting group, I guess.

And that’s all from me there! Stay tuned for the next post, and I’ll see you next time. Buh-bye!

Leave a Reply

