The “Nae Catches Up on Kpop” Project (Part 4 FINAL)

The Nae Catches Up on Kpop Project 4

Welcome to the final part of my “Nae Catches Up on Kpop” series. By the time I release this blog post, I will have been all caught up on the releases that have come out over the past month.

Overall, March has been weird as far as comebacks go. Lots of people are debuting at the moment, while other senior acts have been making comebacks as well. April looks like it’s going to be really promising too with comebacks from Oh My Girl, Dreamcatcher (fuck yes), EXID, Teen Top, DIA, Laboum…the list could go on and on. It also looks like it’ll really be a rookie month for girl groups, which is still super exciting.

But before we get to that, we still have a bunch of March to talk about. Since my last post ended at March 14th, 2017, this post will extend up until March 21st, when I came back and started commenting about Kpop again.

Let’s get started, shall we?

SIX BOMB – “Becoming Pretty (After)” (March 16th, 2017)

The whole concept of the members all getting plastic surgery to promote a song all seems so contrived and weird, but somehow the girls got the buzz they wanted with all the news articles written about them. As for the song, it sounds like a Crayon Pop B-side, which isn’t a bad thing, and the music does the job of (cheaply) existing. I don’t think this is going to get them much fame in the long-run though.

CNBLUE – “Between Us” (March 20th, 2017)

The fact that I didn’t know about this until I looked up the Reddit page about upcoming Kpop releases says a lot about how much reporting this group gets. I actually didn’t know they were still going until I heard this – and it’s good. Real good, actually.

Highlight (aka B2ST) – “Plz Don’t Be Sad” (March 20th, 2017)

I don’t care, Cube fucked these guys over by keeping their copyright name and then saying they’re going to make a new B2ST with only Hyunseung in it as an original member (which is just weird). But it’s okay because the actual B2ST (called Highlight now) have released a really good and happy single and I am enjoying it so freaking much right now.

PRISTIN – “Wee Woo” (March 21st, 2017)

Everyone seems to be hating on this song because it didn’t show off vocals and the instrumental is weird with transitions, but I really like it. Sure, it’s not the best debut in the world, and it certainly isn’t the best song I’m listening to, but shit it’s not bad either. Maybe they’ll pull a Gugudan and blow all the haters out of the water with their first comeback and then “Wee Woo” will be put to shame, but for now it’s great.

 

And that’s the final part of my catching up on Kpop! I hope you guys enjoyed, and now that I’m up to speed I am so excited to share a new segment which will end up replacing my “Songs I Missed” series, because I realize that is a much more efficient way of going over all the songs that came out in a week. Stay tuned, and until next time stay awesome. Bye!

 

 

Leave a Reply

