Songs I Missed #12: Dreamcatcher, DAY6, Teen Top, and more!

Songs I Missed 12

Good afternoon, my fellow Kpoppers.

It’s a Saturday afternoon, and I thought I would take the time to write some posts about the past few weeks’ releases. This is gonna be a long list because a lot of big names have come out with some new songs, and for once I’m keeping up with Kpop really well. However, I’ll have to split things into two different Songs I Missed lists because I don’t want to overload one post with, like, 30 videos. So here’s 15 of the songs I’ve missed!

Dreamcatcher – “Goodnight” (April 5th, 2017)

Dreamcatcher is back and better than their debut in this metal-inspired track. It also continues the story of the paranormal investigator and his quest to end the girls. It’s really nice to see a lot more of the girls this time around, but it’s a little disappointing that all we really see of action in the story is the paranormal investigator having more disturbing things happen before eventually being trapped in the fucking mirror for all of eternity.

Taeyeon – “Make Me Love You” (April 5th, 2017)

Taeyeon looks gorgeous as per usual, but the song sounds so submissive and creepy I can’t listen to it without feeling dirty as hell. Probably great for the uncle fans, but not for me.

DAY6 – “I’m Serious” (April 6th, 2017)

Not sure how I feel about this, or even just Day6 as a whole. They aren’t bad. But I never find myself wanting to listen to them on my free time. Maybe it’s just a matter they’re not my cup of tea, but I’m not really feeling this one.

EXID – “Night Rather Than Day” (April 10th, 2017)

The fact that I forgot this came out says a lot about how I feel about this song. It’s very easy to feel Solji’s absence in this track, which isn’t very fun for me. You can’t win them all, though, so here’s to hoping Solji gets better soon so EXID can come back true to form.

Teen Top – “Love Is?” (April 10th, 2017)

I know that L.Joe left this group at some point over the past few months, but it’s hard to feel his absence because this is the first good song Teen Top’s come out with in years. It also weirdly reminds me of Kpop circa 2012-2013, which is always a good thing in my book. (Further, can we talk about how fire this choreography is? Because it is fire.)

WASSUP – “Color TV” (April 13th, 2017)

Eh. It’s not my style, but at least it’s fast-paced and catchy to some extent. The video is low-budget, but at least their styling is not bad. I want those oversized striped shirts.

Berry Good – “Bibbidi Bobbidi Boo” (April 16th, 2017)

The song works great with this country/western sound, but it seems that’s where a lot of their Makestar budget went because the video looks awful. It’s too bad because sometimes it’s the video that can make or break a song in the Kpop world, and it looks like it’ll be yet another miss for Berry Good this time around.

Laboum – “Hwi Hwi” (April 17th, 2017)

Known these days as the saejaegi queens among the Kpop masses, Laboum is one of the rookie groups I root for because their songs have been consistently decent. In fact, there hasn’t been one I haven’t liked yet. All controversy aside, this song is a serious bop and the video is gorgeous, so take a listen if you haven’t yet.

DIA – “Will You Go Out With Me” (April 19th, 2017)

This is so stupid cute and I love it.

Bonusbaby – “When I Become An Adult” (April 20th, 2017)

This song is a heck of a lot more tolerable than “Urikiri” ever could be, but carries over the Japanese idol elements that can make this grating for some listeners. Not bad, but also kind of forgettable. MyB did not deserve to die for this.

IU ft. G-Dragon – “Palette” (April 21st, 2017)

This song was probably the only memorable one out of the songs IU came out with for her “Palette” album. Also, the video is ingenious and deserves a listen, if only for seeing IU when she’s at her best.

K.A.R.D. – “Rumor” (April 24th, 2017)

It’s just the same shit over and over again. I’m done with it. Next.

SNUPER – “Back:Hug” (April 24th, 2017)

This song is Sweetune loveliness and reminds me of INFINITE before they switched to Rphabet as their main producer (which sucks because you can almost hear INFINITE singing this song so I bet this was in Sweetune’s dungeon for years until SNUPER picked it up as their next single).

Momoland – “Wonderful Love” (April 26th, 2017)

Can we talk about how adorable this chorus is? Because this chorus is adorable and deserves all the love and affection it asks for. Also, I am a sucker for anything saccharine sweet like this.

 

And that’s it for this post. Stay tuned today to figure out what my thoughts are on the month of May’s releases!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

