Songs I Missed #13: A Different Format, and a Lot of Kpop

Songs I Missed 13

Good morning, fellow Kpoppers!

As you probably know by now, I get really behind on Kpop releases, and it’s not a good time when I am inactive for months on end and still need to comment on a bunch of them. So, I am trying out a new format so I can point out all the things that are good, the okay, and the bad. It might make things a little more interesting and fun to look at, or it might just be annoying and not that great.

The past few months of Kpop have had a lot of really good singles. The warmer months always seem to bring the best out of Kpop, so it’s super exciting to watch things get better and better. Unfortunately, both SISTAR and T-ARA are leaving Kpop for good, so that has made the past few months sad at times. However, what we have is a lot of music to go through, so let’s get started!

 

The Good

Lovelyz – “Now, We” (May 2nd, 2017)

I don’t think any of you understand how much I love Lovelyz. They are an endlessly consistent, endlessly cute group, and there is just something about them I can’t get enough of. After coming out with the weird and disappointing, “WoW!” Lovelyz came out with this, and this is them back to form. The song is beautiful in the same way flowers are, and the video (despite that really strange blue filter they put over everything) is gorgeous. The fact they received their first music show win for this tells me that, for once, justice has been served in the Kpop world.

TWICE – “Signal” (May 15th, 2017)

Granted, this is no “TT” or “Knock Knock,” but this is still a very solid single. Once you get past the first minute, this song takes off and sounds amazing. Most people saw this as disappointing because it came off a very good run and doesn’t cover TWICE’s weaknesses as well as the other singles (only have two great vocalists is going to be a problem no matter how you look at it). That being said, I love the weirdness of this track and it will be one of those things singles that, with time, will sound better than it does now.

VIXX – “Shangri-La” (May 15th, 2017)

This song is far from saving Kpop, but I mention this comeback because the video is gorgeous and every single member looks very, very good.

He he.

iKon – “B-Day” (May 22nd, 2017)

This is complete and utter trash. This is a swagfest at it’s finest. This video is a big fucking mess that introduces the members as bees flying around at one point. The chorus sounds like a tantrum. This is the lowest charting YG comeback ever, and it shows because it sounds like something Big Bang would’ve released if YG considered them a throwaway group. So explain to me why the fuck I like this, because your guess is as good as mine. I have never been so ashamed to like something in my life, and it will be written on my tombstone that I was one of those few tragic people who did.

A.C.E. – “Cactus” (May 23rd, 2017)

Y’all.

Yes, the guys look like they are wearing lipstick in some parts. No one can tell what the concept is beyond a very good-looking dance. But this song is so good. It’s nice to see something like electronica/techno being taken by the horns and made totally awesome, and I don’t know, this is just the best boy group single I’ve heard in a very, very long time. Ya girl will be following these boys from now on.

SISTAR – “Lonely” (May 31st, 2017)

This is upsetting for every SISTAR fan, but even this makes me upset. I only became a fan of them recently with their “I Like That” single, so I guess it says a lot about loving a group while they are here, rather than when they’re halfway out the door.

T-ARA – “What’s My Name?” (June 14th, 2017)

It’s easy to feel the absence of Soyeon and Boram in this track, but the remaining members hold their own just fine. I’ve been a fan of T-ara since their 2012 bullying scandal that took them from being on par with Girl’s Generation, to being a ostracized has-been. Part of me is really sad that they are disbanding, but another is overjoyed because at least they got love and justice at the end of the line.

Girls Next Door – “Deep Blue Eyes” (June 14th, 2017)

I know that this is a temporary group for a reality show called Idol Drama Operation Team, but this is really just a sweet and seductive song and I love it. Plus, it’s nice to see Lovelyz’s Sujeong outside the cutesy stuff for a change, and retro-sounding anything will make me happy.

 

This is Okay

Seventeen – “Don’t Wanna Cry” (May 22nd, 2017)

This is not to say that this song is meh. Actually, it’s pretty good. I just don’t listen to it enough to warrant it to be on my good list. Watch the video if only to see how to use a big group of people to make a beautiful, moving dance sequence.

ASTRO – “Baby” (May 29th, 2017)

This deserves mentioning because I love ASTRO, but this is only okay in comparison to their last two singles. Also, I cannot forgive that one member for putting popcorn in a blender because only a monster would do that shit.

ELRIS – “We, First” (June 1st, 2017)

I found this group’s debut by accident on Twitter. It’s your standard debut Kpop fluff. Nothing more, nothing less. Also, one of the members has a strange, unblinking stare that scares me.

WJSN (Cosmic Girls) – “Happy” 

Remind me of this song at the end of the year because I have no idea how I feel about this at the moment.

The Bad

Hyoyeon ft. San E – “Wannabe” 

I am noticing a trend where San E shows up as a feature when a song is already bad. This song is the worst. The instrumental is awful, Hyoyeon sounds atrocious with autotune (which is hard for me to notice in a normal Kpop song) and nothing really meshes well either. The only good part of this is the chorus, which should have been put in a better song altogether. This is a sad place to go after the interesting but forgettable, “Mystery.” SM Entertainment, I blame you for this one.

NCT 127 – “Cherry Bomb” (June 14th, 2017)

I am just going to chock up why I don’t like in a few words: I don’t get it. I haven’t liked anything from NCT, but most bloggers I know are talking about how this is amazing. I guess I’m just not feeling it as much as everyone else in the Kpop community. Maybe they’ll pull a BTS and get me to like them from something else later on. I don’t know. But I just don’t like this. It’s loud, it’s grating, and I can’t get into it.

 

And that’s it from me! I hope you guys enjoyed and let me know in the comments below what songs you liked, didn’t like, or didn’t care for. Have a wonderful day, and I’ll see you next week!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

